Hall of Fame

*The 2020 Hall of Fame class, which was delayed due to COVID, had their induction ceremony on
Fri/Sat August 27-28, 2021. They are listed as “Inducted 2020-21”.

The Hall of Fame is located in the hallway outside the Roy Williamson Performing Arts Center.

The AW Hall of Fame honors both athletes and non-athletes.  Induction into the Hall of Fame is designed to recognize individuals who, through their participation in academics, activities, creative arts, music and sports at AWHS, have made an impact on the Anthony Wayne Schools, in their community and/or in their professions.

Induction occurs in the fall usually during the weekend of the first HOME football game. The inductees are introduced during halftime at the game on Friday night. On Saturday there is an alumni association sponsored luncheon in the high school cafeteria where the inductees are introduced and speak before friends and family. (check back for the exact dates and times)

In order to be considered for the Hall of Fame, candidates must meet one of the following criteria:

*Alumni Must have graduated a minimum of ten (10) years ago
*Administrator/Faculty/Staff – Must have served a minimum of ten (10) years and have been retired for at least five (5) years
*Community Honorary Member – Must have made a significant voluntary contribution to the betterment of the Anthony Wayne schools.

There are 158 members of the AW Hall of Fame as of fall 2021.

Download and use this form to nominate a Hall of Fame candidate:


*HOF Nomination Form*

Mail to:
Anthony Wayne Alumni Association
P.O. Box 2441
Whitehouse, OH 43571


AW Alumni Hall of Fame History

Inducted 1999
Larry Morrison, 1954
Karen Schaller Swartz*, 1957
Dick Albaugh*,  Faculty, Coach, Administrator
Carl Campbell*, Faculty, Coach, Administrator
Harry Dudrow*, Faculty, Coach, Administrator
Lowell Hinkle*, Class of 1954
Mark Knerr*, Teacher, Counselor, Coach, Administrator
Willard Schaller*, Member, AW Board of Education
Alan Studer, Class of 1957
Fred Hessman, Class of 1957
Albert Les Disher*, Class of 1958
Ralph Whalen, Class of 1965
Richard Albaugh, Jr, Class of 1975
Rodney Boyer*,  Administrator and AW Board of Education Member
Donald Dick*,  Member, AW Board of Education
James McVicker, Sr.*, Community Member
Roy Williamson*, Faculty

Inducted 2000
Bill Stamm, Class of 1951
James L. Studer, Class of 1952
Leland (Lee) Thomas,  Class of 1952
William J.Ewald, Class of 1963
John B. Welch*, Class of 1965
William R. Green, Class of 1968
Laurie McVicker Bassett, Class of 1970
Jan E. Saunders, Class of 1977
Victor Disher*, Community Leader
Robert E. Streight*,  Faculty, Administrator, and AW Board of Education

Inducted 2001
Ronald Disher*, Class of 1951
Yvonne Bauman Walters, Class of 1952
Richard Paul Schaller, Class of 1956
Dick Knapp*, Class of 1957
John A. Whalen, Class of 1963
Jane E. Imes, Class of 1966
Lance W. Martin, Class of 1971
Michael J. Sherman, Class of 1975
James Baxter, Faculty, Coach, Administrator
Roy E. Lee, Coach

Inducted 2002
Ralph Farnsworth, Class of 1955
Vicky Trapp Ryan, Class of 1964
Michael Story, Class of 1974
Paul Heilmann*, AW Board of Education Member
Robert Smith, Faculty and Administrator
Lois Waffle*, Community Leader
Janis Sullivan Witte, Faculty

Inducted 2003
Beverly (Becky) Potter Jacobs, ,Class of 1957
Richard “Benny” Heilman, Class of 1959
Neil A. Holliker, Class of 1969
Connie Mesnard Kirkland, Class of 1964
Constance Gaiser-Phillips, Class of 1967
Patrick Short, Class of 1972
Katharine Morris Heintschel, Class of 1975
Susan Hendee Markwood, Class of 1975
Theodore T. Nelson, Class of 1985
Michael F. Nelson, Class of 1985
Robert F. Shelton*, AW Board of Education

Inducted 2004
Clifton Studer*, AW Staff
Hesterbelle Studer*, AW Staff
Helen A Long Devitt, Class of 1952
Allen L. Gaspar*, Class of 1969
Kip Greenhill, Class of 1969
Patrick J. Rohen, Class of 1975
Tim Story, Class of 1975
Susan Schnackel Cross,  Class of 1981
Dick Burdo, Coach, Administrator
George Hover*, Community Leader

Inducted 2005
Larry L. Disher, Class of 1954
DeAnna Green Bradley, Class of 1965
George R. Perry, Class of 1957
William Perry, Class of 1957
Karen M. Shepler*, Class of 1969
Amy L. Graham, Class of 1971
Teresa Taylor Fedor, Class of 1974
Joseph A. Moore, Class of 1978
Susanne M. Reid Donnal, Class of 1985
Sara A. Croy, Faculty
Ron Richards*, Coach and Faculty

Inducted in 2006
Donald J. Schaller, Class of 1957
Janis L. Entenman, Class of 1971
Amy Clark, Class of 1982
Steve Shunck, Class of 1982
John F. Spilker, Class of 1982
Louise Cox Miklovic, Faculty, Coach
Frank J. Roach*, Community Leader

Inducted 2007
Phillip Boehm, Class of 1955
Carol E. Gottshalk-O’Shea*, Class of 1967
Robert A Welch, MD, Class of 1979
Missy Meeker Bergfeld, Class of 1976
Dr. Julie Holloway, Class of 1979
Karla R. Witte, Class of 1981
Jane Golding Robertson, Class of 1985

Inducted 2008
Jim Flynn, Class of 1957
Barbara Lewis Smigelski, Class of 1959
Edward Winzeler, Class of 1969
Arlen G. Tipping*, Class of 1975
Kenneth W. Fallows, Faculty
Todd R. Frendt, Community Leader

Inducted 2009
Darla Ames Nolder, Class of 1959
Joshua B. Torres, Class of 1998

Inducted 2010
Chuck Peyton, Class of 1954
Shelley Morris Agee, Class of 1967
Pamela Megyesi Ott, Class of 1973
Wendelin A. Burdo-Hartman, Class of 1978
Lee Boyer, Class of 1989
Tom Torkelson, Class of 1993

Inducted 2011
Thomas Edward Hertzfeld I, Class of 1955
Dr. Paul A. Benson, Class of 1960
Gary Lawrence Studer*, Class of 1965
Jennifer Witte Yoder, Class of 1972
Jeffrey Chamberlain, Class of 1980
Leo D. Price, Community Leader

Inducted 2012
Leroy Lashaway, Class of 1952
Michael M. Elling, Class of 1957
Richard R. Farnsworth, Class of 1958
Tony Durham, Class of 1977

Inducted 2013
Beth Tracey Hite, Class of 1966
Pamela Gilbert Fugazzi, Class of 1980
Jerry Reed, Faculty, Coach, Counselor
Holly Schmidbauer, Class of 1966

Inducted 2014
Norman Jacobs*, Class of 1956
Candy Cheski Flaggert Emch, Class of 1965
Mary O’Donnell, Class of 1975
Brian Billings, Class of 2002
Ken Russell*, Community Honoree

Inducted 2015
Rebekah Bradley Wenzlick, Class of 1992
Walter Franklin, Class of 1957
Wayne Graves, Class of 1965
Kay Schaller Sergent, Class of 1956
Paula (Pollie) Young Miller, Class of 1971
Hank Stateczny, Community Honoree

Inducted 2016
Bob Borcherdt*, Class of 1959
Nancy Carr Taylor*, Class of 1958
Carl Graves*, Class of 1967
Sarah Meyer, Class of 2003
Judy Winslow Carter, Class of 1964
Sandy Chipka, Community Honoree
Debbie Jacoby, Community Honoree

Inducted 2017
Dale Cordy, Class of 1957
Ernie Gehrke*, Class of 1965
Karen Larue Wiggins, Class of 1970
Steve Wayne, Class of 1962
Sue Ann Ladd, Community Honoree
Robert Slykhuis, Community Honoree

Inducted 2018
Anthony P. Bevacqua, Monclova High School Class of 1950
William F. “Fred” Dais, Class of 1960
Mike Neumeyer, Class of 1988
Chad Reed, Class of 1992
Nancy A. Franklin-Yunker, Class of 1967

Inducted 2019
Teri Utz Bersee, Class of 1971
Jim Conrad, Class of 1965
Randee DeBolt Masciola, Class of 1991
Andrew Smith, Class of 1973
Roberta Huber Sunkle, Class of 1956

Inducted 2020-21
Allison Papenfuss, Class of 2009
Louella Ryerson Rupp, Whitehouse High School Class of 1943
Sara Ryan Torres, Class of 1990
Bill Woods, Class of 1964
Kelly Zunkiewicz, Class of 2003
Jon McAfee, Teacher, Coach, Community